## Agreement on the accession of the Republic of Crimea to the Russian Federation signed

The Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Crimea on the Accession of the Republic of Crimea in the Russian Federation and on Forming New Constituent Entities within the Russian Federation was signed in the Kremlin on March 18, 2014.

March 18, 2014 16:00 The Kremlin, Moscow

The document bears the signatures of President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, Chairman of the State Council of the Republic of Crimea Vladimir Konstantinov, Prime Minister of the Republic of Crimea Sergei Aksyonov and Chairman of the Coordinating Council for the establishment of the Sevastopol municipal administration Alexei Chaly.

\* \* \*

The agreement is based on the free and voluntary expression of will by the peoples of Crimea at a nationwide referendum, held in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol on March 16, 2014, during which the people of Crimea made the decision to reunite with Russia.

The Republic of Crimea is considered to have acceded to the Russian Federation from the date of the Agreement's signing. Beginning on the day that the Republic of Crimea accedes to the Russian Federation, two new constituent entities are formed within the Russian Federation: the Republic of Crimea and the Federal City

of Sevastopol.

The text of the Agreement includes a preamble and ten articles that outline the provisions concerning the accession of the Republic of Crimea to the Russian Federation and the formation of new constituent entities within the Russian Federation, including provisions regarding the territories of the new Russian constituent entities, their residents' citizenship, and the constituent entities' government bodies.

In accordance with the Agreement, from the day that the Republic of Crimea accedes to the Russian Federation and new constituent entities are formed and until January 1, 2015, a transitional period is in effect for settling issues of integrating the new federal constituent entities into Russia's economic, financial, credit and legal systems, Russia's system of government agencies, and matters of fulfilling military responsibilities and military service on the territories of the Republic of Crimea and the Federal City of Sevastopol.

Legislative and other regulatory legal acts of the Russian Federation are in effect on the territories of the Republic of Crimea and the Federal City of Sevastopol from the day of the Republic of Crimea's accession to the Russian Federation and the formation of new federal constituent entities within Russia, unless otherwise specified by Russian legislation.

Regulatory legal acts in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol, a city with a special status, shall be in effect on the territories corresponding to the Republic of Crimea and the Federal City of Sevastopol until the end of the transitional period or the adoption of a corresponding regulatory legal act by the Russian Federation and/or a regulatory legal act by the Republic of Crimea, a regulatory legal act by the Russian Federation and/or a regulatory legal act by the Federal City of Sevastopol.

Regulatory legal acts of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, the Republic of Crimea and the Federal City of Sevastopol that

contradict the Constitution of the Russian Federation shall not be executed.

The Agreement is subject to ratification on the basis of Article 15 of the Federal Law On International Agreements of the Russian Federation and in accordance with Article 10 of the Agreement.

**Publication status** 

Published in section: News

Publication date: March 18, 2014, 16:00

Direct link: en.kremlin.ru/d/20604